TypeItIn

Questions, comments, and suggestions related to Typeitin.
dsan1326
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 2:08 pm

TypeItIn

Post by dsan1326 » Mon Jul 01, 2019 2:12 pm

I want to use typeitin to launch a browser with www.google.com + a query for a subject.

For example: if I am searching for "raspberry pi" I want to use typeitin to launch the browser and execute the search.

How is this possible?

Wavget
Site Admin
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 4:32 pm

Re: TypeItIn

Post by Wavget » Mon Jul 01, 2019 7:50 pm

I created a button with the following:

{Ctrl c}{Delay 50}{Var1 GetClip}{run https://www.google.com/webhp?ie=UTF-8#q={Var1}}

It first copies whatever text is selected with Control-C.

It then opens a browser window and navigates to Google with the copied text as the search parameter.

To make this button easier to use, assign it a shortcut key. I use <ALT><CTRL>G.

To use it, highlight the text you want to search for and press Alt-Control-G.

Hope this helps,
Paul.

dsan1326
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: TypeItIn

Post by dsan1326 » Mon Jul 01, 2019 8:37 pm

Perfect, thank you. That works!

JoeKundlak
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 3:59 am

Re: TypeItIn

Post by JoeKundlak » Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:12 am

It's weird, this does not work for me. I see the copied text in the Clipboard group as a new button, but this macro does not paste Var1 at the end of the URL...

Wavget
Site Admin
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 4:32 pm

Re: TypeItIn

Post by Wavget » Tue Jul 09, 2019 8:35 am

Have you tried to increase the delay from 50 to 100?

JoeKundlak
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 3:59 am

Re: TypeItIn

Post by JoeKundlak » Tue Jul 09, 2019 8:48 am

Wavget wrote:
Tue Jul 09, 2019 8:35 am
Have you tried to increase the delay from 50 to 100?
I have even tried to insert delays of 1200ms between each of the above commands... the Clipboard group shows the text copied as a new button, but the above macro does not output anything as Var1...

Wavget
Site Admin
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 4:32 pm

Re: TypeItIn

Post by Wavget » Tue Jul 09, 2019 9:34 am

Can you post the button contents here?

JoeKundlak
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 3:59 am

Re: TypeItIn

Post by JoeKundlak » Tue Jul 09, 2019 9:41 am

For instance:

{Delay 1200}{Ctrl c}{Delay 500}{Var1 GetClip}{Delay 1200}{run https://www.google.com/webhp?ie=UTF-8#q={Var1}}

kevinchart
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: TypeItIn google search

Post by kevinchart » Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:08 pm

Joe,
FWIW - Out of curiosity, I tried both your and Paul's button contents and both worked just fine for me.

I have version 3.1. I believe that you said you have 2.9.4. Perhaps the GetClip command was first introduced in version 3?

Did you try setting the variable manually and then the run command to see if that works?
Something like:

Code: Select all

{Var1 =soccer}{run https://www.google.com/webhp?ie=UTF-8#q={Var1}}
Kevin

JoeKundlak
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 3:59 am

Re: TypeItIn

Post by JoeKundlak » Wed Jul 31, 2019 3:28 am

Hi Kevin,

your example works, so GetClip might be the culprit indeed.

However, as said I have the 2.9.4 version of TypeItIn and the HELP file lists it under the "Variable from clipboard" entry in "Special Functions", so I am confused...

Post Reply