Page 1 of 1

Windows 10 'Run'

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 7:25 am
by dsan1326
Good morning Paul -

I would like to be prompted for input. For example, if I want to enter a manual query or if I want to force a particular application to run despite default applications indicating otherwise, I'd like to receive a prompt to enter an input in to.

I was looking for the Windows 10 "Run" command but can't seem to get it to work with TypeItIn.

Thoughts?

Danny

Re: Windows 10 'Run'

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:47 pm
by Wavget
You can use the run command to open a file but it will always use the default application associated with the file.

For example {Run mydocument.docx} will use Microsoft Word to open the file.

You can specify what application to use with the Run command.

For example {Run notepad.exe,mydocument.docx} will use notepad to open the file.

You can use a variable from a list to allow you to select the application.

For example {Var1 List notepad.exe,winword.exe}{run {Var1},mydocument.docx} will first show a list with notepad and winword to allow you to select the application and then open the file in the selected program.

You can also use an input dialog to manually enter the program name.

For example {Var1 =?}{run {Var1},mydocument.docx} first shows a dialog box allowing you to enter the program name and then opens the file.

Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Regards,
Paul.

Re: Windows 10 'Run'

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:23 am
by dsan1326
This is great Paul. thank you.

Re: Windows 10 'Run'

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 12:31 pm
by dsan1326
I have been able to implement a Run command, below

{Run C:\Users\ds3787\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\System Tools\Run}

It delivers a "prompt" which then is used to initiate a typeitin shortcut phrase.

How do I, after inputting the shortcut phrase, automate closing the Run command?

Re: Windows 10 'Run'

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 1:44 pm
by Wavget
I think you can use {Enter} to execute the command.

Paul.